I just want to see people. I want to see all the people that feel like I’ve felt. The folk that mosey on out of the room unnoticed because everyone is engaged with someone and they have no one. I want to notice all the people that feel small, and do for them all the things that I wish someone would say or do in the moments that I feel the smallest. I want to ask folk how they’re doing and genuinely mean it. Not out of protocol or manners, but because I wonder has anyone asked and really cared? I want people to feel seen- to be glad they showed up today because had they not, the would’ve missed the encounter. I just want people to feel like they matter. It’s hard feeling like you wouldn’t be missed if you weren’t around. Or that if you weren’t there, no one would notice. No one would ask, “have you seen such and such lately? Checked in with them? heard from them?”… I am proof that someone somewhere would be looking for you! People from yesteryear cross my mind every day. Shame on me for not reaching out and letting them know they were on my mind. But there isn’t a day that goes by that someone that I used to know, or currently know that I haven’t seen or talked to – doesn’t cross my mind.

Even if you feel like no one is looking for you, you still matter. Your existence is still important. Life would be different for someone tomorrow if you weren’t here today. We need you. We need your specific contribution to this space in this very moment. We need what you bring to the table. We need your ideas, your visions and your dreams to come to fruition. We need your hopes that you hang your heart on. We need you! We need you to raise your children in the way that only you can – that will set them on the path of change to be a chain-breaker in this world. We need your grandchildren to be the visionary for a lost generation. We need your footprint that crosses the path of so many to leave an indelible imprint on the lives of others.

Today may not feel like your day. Today you may feel invisible. But we still need you. Someone is thinking of you. You are crossing someone’s mind right now. A stranger that doesn’t know you needs your smile, needs your “thank you.” Someone needs your, “You’re welcome,” today. Someone needs to see your smile today. And even on the days where none of this seems possible to you; and you just can’t believe it to be true. We need you tomorrow also. You’re someone’s reason for getting up.

Sometimes its the smallest things that matter. Missed you today.

